northcarolinaphotographyschool · Photography · rcc

6-2-17

“You don’t take a photograph, you make it” – Ansel Adams

As I spent the week thinking about what I wanted to post on my blog this week, my mind went to one place.  I thought of one of the major projects that we had during the spring semester. The major was called ” Up close and personal”. We were required to photograph thirty-six strangers up close and personal. We also had to ask the stranger their  full name, hometown, age and an interesting fact about them.

Thinking about walking up to complete strangers and asking them if I could not only photograph them, but also ask a series of questions was not something I thought I would be able to do. I certainly proved myself wrong. I may have been told “no” a few times but that did not stop me from going to the next person. I kept on trucking, at least I tried right?

The reason I decided to share this in my blog is because it helped me grow not only as a photographer, but also as a person. I completed this assignment even with my self doubt. Nothing that will help you grow in life will be easy, but if you stop doubting yourself you will be amazed at what you can accomplish.

The photos below are some of my favorites from the up close and personal project. I hope that you enjoy them.

Up close and personalMajor 1Major 1Major 1Major 1

6 thoughts on “6-2-17

  1. Megan I agree that Up Close and Personal was a very challenging and difficult assignment and one that I will never forget. But in the end it was a lot to be gained from that experience. This photography journey is challenging but yet rewarding experiences.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Megan! Great work on these up close and personal photographs. I really feel like you captured their personalities and their eyes really tell a story of who they are and perhaps everything that they’ve been through. I can’t decide which one I like best. I think this project really brought out something in all of us. I’m used to talking to people, working in restaurants as long as I have, but I still struggled with the idea of walking up to strangers on streets and asking for a minute of their time. It’s amazing how open some people are to allowing a complete stranger photograph them. Although it felt like a struggle at the time, I’m really glad we were challenged to put ourselves out there and think outside the box.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Megan,
    Up close and personal was such a challenge for me personally and I know for a lot of others as well. These pictures look so good though! I love how much detail you can see about the person in their face and their eyes. It was definitely a step out of our comfort zone but at the end of the day, we are all better photographers because of it!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I really like the photos you posted, great cross section of ages and ethnicities! I am sure I will remember this project for a very long time. It terrified me at first, but after I got into it, I really enjoyed it. I guess because of my age, I had a hard time moving on from some of my subjects because they wanted to tell me their story and talk for a while. I went downtown this weekend to do some photos for Matt and saw at least 4 of the folks I photographed and they all waved and said hello. I had lengthy conversations with a couple of them so UCP was a great experience.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

